Are you buying or selling?

It seemed like it was time for another song on the blog this week. I wrote this one a couple years ago with a full band. This is the newly stripped down solo version. Enjoy!

The Whitest of the Black Sheep

 

Here,

Here I am.

Here I am at the crossroads.

I,

I have nothing.

I have nothing to fear.

Long ago I said goodbye

to the only thing I could sell here.

 

See the long line of wishers,

and I hatch myself a plan.

I think I’ll grow my horns out

and make a purchase while I can.

Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh,

the whitest of the black sheep

still got himself a soul.

 

The coven

in the convent

measured my knuckles everyday.

And the more they tried to push me to my knees,

the more they pushed me away.

 

So I burned all the bridges

that cross the great divide,

but all the maps that showed me the way

got left on the other side.

 

The hunter

in the basement

swung his ax into my head.

And the hangman,

with his sharp tongue,

showed me all blue blood runs red.

 

Then they gave me a compass

with a long glass stem.

They picked me up 

and showed me the way

to where they had already been.

 

So, now, here,

Here I am.

Here I am at the crossroads.

I have nothing.

I have nothing to fear.

Long ago I said goodbye

to the only thing I could sell here.

 

See the long line of wishers,

and I stick to the plan.

It’s time to let my horns out

and make a purchase while I can.

Oh, Oh, Oh, Oh,

the whitest of the black sheep

still got himself a soul.

 

Thanks for listening and reading. Remember to “like” and share.

Thanks again.

John D.

Tags: , , , , ,

About John Dilley

John is an endless source of new ideas. With a background in both sports and music, he offers a unique perspective. He has written for The Daily Utah Chronicle, Filler, and has contributed content to several commercial websites. "Be it the past 10 beers or the past 10 years, may you learn from all of life's mistakes. Cheers!" - John Dilley

Leave a Reply

